Home arrow WEC
World Enduro Championship
Frequently Asked Questions - Riding FAQs
FIM World Enduro Championship
World Enduro Championship.png
World Enduro Championship logo
SportMotorcycle sport
Most recent champion(s)E1 Finland Mika Ahola
E2 France Johnny Aubert
E3 Finland Samuli Aro

The Maxxis FIM World Enduro Championship (WEC) is the world championship series for enduro, a popular form of off-road motorcycle sport. The championship currently features three classes (E1, E2 and E3), along with the junior class.

The WEC was first organized in 1990, and currently consists of 16 races based on eight two-day events. All rounds include an enduro test, a motocross test and an extreme test. The 2007 championship included six events in Europe, one in the United States and one in Canada. In the 2008 season, all eights rounds were held in Europe.



Nicolas Paganon riding an E2 class Aprilia RXV 4.5.

The World Enduro Championship began in 1990, replacing the FIM European Enduro Championship, which had been contested since 1968. The European championship was later re-started by the Union Européenne de Motocyclisme (UEM) in 1993. The WEC had six classes from 1990 to 1993, after which the 80 cc and 500 cc 2-stroke championships were discontinued. The series continued with four classes, 125, 250, 350 and 500 cc, until the 1998 season, which saw 250 cc 4-stroke as a new class and the 350 cc replaced by 400 cc. In 1998, all rounds also counted towards an overall championship, which was continued until 2004.

Jari Mattila with an E1 HM Honda at the 2008 Grand Prix of Italy.

The competition classes of the WEC were revised for the 2004 season. The number of classes was reduced to three, and 2-stroke and 4-stroke machines were now competing in the same classes. The new classes were named Enduro 1, Enduro 2 and Enduro 3. The 2005 season saw a new addition; the Enduro Junior class (EJ). The age limit in the junior class was originally 21 years, but was later changed to 23.[1]

The points system of the WEC originally awarded points for 15 best riders in each class, starting with 20 for the winner, 17 for second place and 15 for third. Since the 2004 season, the twenty fastest riders have received points, with 25 going to the winner of each class.

Current classes

  • Enduro 1 (E1) – 100 to 125 cc 2-stroke or 175 - 250 cc 4-stroke
  • Enduro 2 (E2) – 175 to 250 cc 2-stroke or 290 - 450 cc 4-stroke
  • Enduro 3 (E3) – 290 to 500 cc 2-stroke or 475 - 650 cc 4-stroke


Season80 cc 2-stroke125 cc 2-stroke250 cc 2-stroke350 cc 4-stroke500 cc 2-stroke+350 cc 4-stroke
1990East Germany Thomas Bieberbach (Simson)United Kingdom Paul Edmondson (KTM)Finland Kari Tiainen (Suzuki)Czech Republic Otakar Kotrba (Husqvarna)Sweden Peter Hansson (KTM)Sweden Jimmie Eriksson (Husaberg)
1991Italy Pierfranco Muraglia (Kawasaki)Sweden Jeff Nilsson (KTM)Finland Kari Tiainen (Husqvarna)Sweden Kent Karlsson (Husaberg)Sweden Sven-Erik Jönsson (Husqvarna)Slovakia Jaroslav Katrinák (Husaberg)
1992Italy Gian-Marco Rossi (HRD)Sweden Jeff Nilsson (KTM)Italy Giorgio Grasso (Kawasaki)Italy Mario Rinaldi (KTM)Italy Tulio Pellegrinelli (Honda)Finland Kari Tiainen (Husqvarna)
1993Italy Gian-Marco Rossi (TM)United Kingdom Paul Edmondson (Husqvarna)Italy Giorgio Grasso (Kawasaki)Sweden Sven-Erik Jönsson (Husqvarna)Italy Giovanni Sala (KTM)Italy Fabio Farioli (KTM)
500 cc 4-stroke
1994 United Kingdom Paul Edmondson (Gas Gas)Italy Giovanni Sala (KTM)Italy Mario Rinaldi (KTM) Finland Kari Tiainen (Husqvarna)
1995 Finland Petteri Silván (Husqvarna)Italy Giovanni Sala (KTM)Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husaberg) Finland Kari Tiainen (Husqvarna)
1996 Italy Fausto Scovolo (Honda)United Kingdom Paul Edmondson (Gas Gas)Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husqvarna) Sweden Peter Jansson (Husaberg)
1997 Australia Shane Watts (KTM)France Stéphane Peterhansel (Yamaha)Italy Mario Rinaldi (KTM) Finland Kari Tiainen (KTM)
250 cc 4-stroke400 cc 4-stroke
1998Italy Gian-Marco Rossi (Honda)Czech Republic Roman Michalík (TM)Italy Giovanni Sala (KTM)Sweden Björne Carlsson (Husaberg) Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husqvarna)
1999Finland Vesa Kytönen (Kawasaki)Finland Juha Salminen (KTM)Finland Petteri Silván (Gas Gas)Italy Giovanni Sala (KTM) Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husqvarna)
2000Italy Matteo Rubin (KTM)Finland Juha Salminen (KTM)Australia Stefan Merriman (Husqvarna)Italy Mario Rinaldi (KTM) Finland Kari Tiainen (KTM)
2001France Stéphane Peterhansel (Yamaha)Finland Petteri Silván (Husqvarna)Finland Juha Salminen (KTM)Australia Stefan Merriman (Husqvarna) Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husqvarna)
2002Sweden Peter Bergvall (Yamaha)Finland Petteri Silván (Husqvarna)Finland Samuli Aro (Husqvarna)Finland Juha Salminen (KTM) Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husqvarna)
2003Sweden Peter Bergvall (Yamaha)Finland Petri Pohjamo (Gas Gas)Australia Stefan Merriman (Honda)Sweden Anders Eriksson (Husqvarna) Finland Juha Salminen (KTM)
2004Australia Stefan Merriman (Yamaha)Finland Juha Salminen (KTM)Finland Samuli Aro (KTM)
2005Spain Iván Cervantes (KTM)Finland Samuli Aro (KTM)United Kingdom David Knight (KTM)
2006Spain Iván Cervantes (KTM)Finland Samuli Aro (KTM)United Kingdom David Knight (KTM)
2007Finland Juha Salminen (KTM)Finland Mika Ahola (Honda)Spain Iván Cervantes (KTM)
2008Finland Mika Ahola (Honda)France Johnny Aubert (Yamaha)Finland Samuli Aro (KTM)
2009Finland Mika Ahola (Honda)France Johnny Aubert (KTM)Spain Iván Cervantes (KTM)

Overall championship

Seven-time class and five-time overall champion Salminen riding his E2 KTM in 2008.
1998Italy Giovanni Sala250 cc KTM
1999Finland Petteri Silván250 cc Gas Gas
2000Finland Juha Salminen125 cc KTM
2001Finland Juha Salminen250 cc KTM
2002Finland Juha Salminen400 cc KTM
2003Finland Juha Salminen500 cc KTM
2004Finland Juha SalminenE2 KTM

Junior championship

Junior class competitor in Italy.
2005Spain Cristóbal GuerreroGas Gas
2006Sweden Joakim LjunggrenHusaberg
2007Sweden Joakim LjunggrenHusaberg
2008Italy Thomas OldratiKTM
2009Spain Oriol MenaHusaberg


External links